Smart plugs with energy monitoring do more than turn appliances on and off remotely — they show you exactly how much power each device consumes and what it costs you, which makes them the easiest entry point into tracking home energy use. After comparing 13 leading options, the TP-Link Tapo P115 stands out as my best overall pick for its reliable power readings, clean Tapo app, and strong scheduling features. The Kasa KP125M Matter plug is the smarter choice if you want future-proof multi-ecosystem support, while the Emporia 4-pack makes the most sense for buyers who want to monitor many devices on a budget and don’t need Matter. The main tradeoff in this category is between ecosystem compatibility (Matter vs. Alexa/Google-only) and price per outlet, plus how detailed each app’s energy data actually is. Some plugs only report daily totals, while others break usage down by hour, week, and estimated cost. Keep reading for the full breakdown, including which plugs to skip and which are worth paying more for.
Get home appliances delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- TP-Link‘s Tapo and Kasa lines delivered the most usable energy dashboards in the group, with real-time wattage, hourly history, and cost estimates — most budget plugs only showed daily totals.
- Matter compatibility (Kasa KP125M, Tapo P110M, Tapo P125M) is the biggest differentiator for 2026: it frees you from app lock-in but currently requires a smart home hub or controller to get the full experience.
- Every plug in the lineup except the Emporia and GHome models runs on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only — buyers with mesh networks that merge bands should check their router settings before buying a 4-pack.
- Four-packs from AiSeek, Govee, and Emporia undercut the brand-name options on per-outlet cost, but their apps are ad-supported or clunkier, which matters if you’ll check energy data daily.
- None of the 13 plugs monitored here supports energy tracking through Apple Home natively — iPhone-first users need to pick a Matter plug and rely on the manufacturer’s app for the energy numbers.
| smart plugs with energy monitoring | Connectivity | Pack Size | Model |
|---|---|---|---|
| TP-Link Tapo P115 Smart Plug | Wi-Fi (2.4GHz) | 2 plugs | Tapo P115 |
| Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Ener | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 1 plug | KP115 |
| GHome Smart Plug | Bluetooth or Wi-Fi (2.4GHz only) | — | — |
| TP-Link Tapo P115 Smart Plug W | Wi-Fi (2.4GHz) | 4 plugs | Tapo P115 |
| AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy | — | 4 plugs | — |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Wi-Fi, Matter | — | KP125MP2 |
| Tapo P110M Smart Plug | Matter certified | 4 plugs | P110M |
| TP-Link Tapo Matter Smart Plug | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 3 plugs | Tapo P125M |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy M | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | 4 plugs | — |
| AiSeek Pro Energy Monitoring S | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | 4 plugs | — |
| Emporia Energy Monitoring Smar | — | — | — |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Wi-Fi, Matter | — | KP125MP4 |
| THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3 | Zigbee 3.0 | 4 plugs | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
TP-Link Tapo P115 Smart Plug (2-Pack), Wi-Fi, 15A with Energy Monitoring
TP-Link’s Tapo P115 earns the top spot because it treats energy monitoring as more than a voltage readout. The detailed usage charts and billing estimates turn raw data into decisions — you can actually see which appliance is inflating your monthly bill. Two features set it apart from the Kasa KP115: smart charging, which cuts power at a chosen battery limit so a phone or e-bike left plugged in overnight stops drawing current, and auto-shutoff that trips before an overload becomes a hazard. Compared with the GHome plug, which handles scheduling but skimps on analytics, the P115 is clearly built for people who want to act on their data, not just collect it. The main tradeoff: it lives on 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only, so mesh-network owners may need to split their bands during setup.
Pros:- Detailed energy tracking with charts and billing estimates
- Smart charging stops power draw at a set battery limit
- Auto-shutoff guards against electrical overload
- Reliable Alexa and Google Assistant voice control
Cons:- 2.4GHz-only Wi-Fi complicates setup on modern mesh networks
- Full feature set requires committing to the Tapo app
Best for: Homeowners who want detailed, chart-based energy insights plus protective features like smart charging and overload shutoff
Not ideal for: Renters or tinkerers who want Matter support and cross-platform flexibility — this plug is locked to the Tapo ecosystem and 2.4GHz Wi-Fi
- Model:Tapo P115
- Pack Size:2 plugs
- Max Current:15A
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi (2.4GHz)
- Energy Monitoring:Yes, with charts and statistics
- Auto-Shutoff:Yes
- Smart Charging:Yes, cuts power at set battery limit
- Voice Assistants:Alexa, Google Assistant
- App:Tapo
Our verdict“The most complete energy-monitoring package for buyers who want insight, automation, and protection in one plug.”
Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Energy Monitoring (KP115)
Where the Tapo P115 leans into analytics, the Kasa KP115 leans into peace of mind. Its standout differentiators are physical: an overheating protection system, a fire-resistant shell, a sliding safety cover that keeps dust and little fingers out of unused slots, and UL certification — a standard few budget plugs in this roundup can claim. The two-year warranty also outlasts what most competitors offer. Energy monitoring is present and functional through the Kasa app, though it’s less granular than the Tapo P115’s chart-driven dashboard. This model makes the most sense for buyers plugging in higher-draw appliances — space heaters, dehumidifiers, older fridges — where fire safety matters more than pretty graphs. Compared with the AiSeek 4-pack, you give up outlet quantity and compactness, but you gain certified build quality.
Pros:- UL certified with overheating protection
- Fire-resistant shell and sliding safety cover
- Two-year warranty exceeds most competitors
- Mature Kasa app with dependable remote control
Cons:- 2.4GHz-only Wi-Fi connection required
- Energy data is less detailed than the Tapo P115’s charts and billing estimates
Best for: Households running heat-producing appliances like space heaters or dehumidifiers where certified safety hardware is the priority
Not ideal for: Buyers outfitting a whole home on a budget — a single KP115 costs more per outlet than the AiSeek or Tapo multi-packs
- Model:KP115
- Pack Size:1 plug
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Energy Monitoring:Yes
- Voice Assistants:Alexa, Google Assistant
- Safety Features:Overheating protection, fire-resistant shell, sliding safety cover
- Certification:UL certified
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“The pick when certified safety hardware and warranty coverage matter more than deep energy analytics.”
GHome Smart Plug – WiFi Smart Plug Works with Alexa and Google Home
The GHome Smart Plug stands out for a feature most rivals ignore: family sharing and group control. Instead of one person hoarding admin rights, everyone in the household can toggle devices from their own phone — useful in shared apartments or with older relatives who shouldn’t need the master account. One-tap group control also lets a single press kill power to several plugs at once, which the KP115 handles more clumsily through scenes. App flexibility is unusual here too: it works with GHome, Smart Life, or Tuya, so you’re not locked into one ecosystem. The honest tradeoff is energy monitoring depth — scheduling and timers help trim usage, but this plug doesn’t match the Tapo P115’s chart-level analysis. Setup friction is real: you must register through the GHome app first before Alexa or Google will recognize it, and it’s 2.4GHz-only.
Pros:- Family sharing lets multiple users control the same plugs
- Group control for one-tap management of several devices
- Works with three apps: GHome, Smart Life, and Tuya
- Bluetooth or Wi-Fi connectivity eases pairing
Cons:- Setup requires the GHome app before linking Alexa or Google
- 2.4GHz-only Wi-Fi support
- Energy monitoring is basic compared with the Tapo P115
Best for: Roommates, families, or caregivers who need multiple people controlling the same plugs from separate phones
Not ideal for: Data-driven buyers who want detailed per-device consumption charts — this plug covers basics only
- Connectivity:Bluetooth or Wi-Fi (2.4GHz only)
- Voice Assistants:Alexa, Google Assistant
- Compatible Apps:GHome, Smart Life, Tuya
- Control Options:Voice, app remote, schedules, timers, group control
- Family Sharing:Yes
- Scheduling:Yes
Our verdict“A practical choice for shared households that value multi-user access over granular energy data.”
TP-Link Tapo P115 Smart Plug Wi-Fi with Energy Monitoring (4-Pack), 15A
This is the same Tapo P115 hardware that wins Best Overall, sold as a 4-pack — and that changes who it’s for. Four monitoring plugs is enough to run a proper whole-home energy audit: fridge here, washing machine there, entertainment center and office setup elsewhere, each feeding per-device data into the Tapo app’s charts and statistics. The smart charging cutoff and auto-shutoff carry over, so every outlet in the set doubles as protection. Compared with the AiSeek 4-pack, the Tapo’s reporting is more polished and its scheduling smarter, but AiSeek’s slimmer housing blocks fewer adjacent outlets — something to weigh if your power strips are crowded. The real limitation is shared: everything routes through the Tapo app on 2.4GHz Wi-Fi, and off-peak scheduling only pays off if your utility actually charges time-varying rates.
Pros:- Four monitored outlets enable whole-home energy tracking in one app
- Same detailed charts and billing estimates as the 2-pack
- Smart charging and auto-shutoff on every plug
- Programmable off-peak scheduling across the set
Cons:- Requires the Tapo app for full functionality
- 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only
- Off-peak scheduling savings depend on your utility’s rate structure
Best for: Homeowners auditing energy use across multiple appliances at once and wanting consistent per-device data in one app
Not ideal for: Buyers who just need one or two monitored outlets — the 2-pack P115 is the smarter buy at that scale
- Model:Tapo P115
- Pack Size:4 plugs
- Max Current:15A
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi (2.4GHz)
- Compatibility:Alexa, Google Assistant
- Energy Monitoring:Yes, with charts and statistics
- Features:Smart charging, auto-shutoff, scheduling
- App:Tapo
Our verdict“The efficient way to buy the roundup’s best energy monitor in quantity and audit your home’s biggest power drains.”
AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4-Pack
For pure outlets-per-dollar with monitoring included, the AiSeek 4-pack is the value play. You get real-time energy readouts on all four plugs, group control through the SmartLife app, and solid protective hardware — fire-resistant materials, short-circuit and overload protection, plus FCC certification. The compact housing is a genuine advantage over the bulkier Tapo P115 4-pack: these fit side by side in a standard duplex outlet or a power strip without blocking neighbors. Where it falls short of TP-Link’s offering is integration — there’s no direct Alexa connection; voice control works only after linking through SmartLife, and the energy dashboard is more basic than Tapo’s chart-driven view. Compared with the GHome plug, AiSeek wins on actual monitoring hardware while GHome wins on multi-user sharing. This pick makes the most sense for buyers who want coverage, not refinement.
Pros:- Real-time energy monitoring on all four plugs
- Compact design leaves adjacent outlets accessible
- Fire-resistant build with short-circuit and overload protection
- Group control for managing multiple devices at once
Cons:- No direct Alexa connection — requires linking through the SmartLife app
- 2.4GHz-only Wi-Fi
- Energy reporting is less detailed than the Tapo P115’s charts
Best for: Budget-conscious buyers outfitting several outlets who want real-time monitoring without paying premium-brand prices
Not ideal for: Smart-home power users who want native Alexa integration and rich analytics — the SmartLife middleman and basic dashboard will frustrate them
- Pack Size:4 plugs
- Max Current:15A
- Max Power:1800W
- Wi-Fi:2.4 GHz
- Energy Monitoring:Yes, real-time
- App:SmartLife
- Voice Control:Alexa, Google Assistant (via SmartLife link)
- Certification:FCC
- Hub Required:No
Our verdict“The most economical way to put energy monitoring on four outlets, provided you accept a simpler app experience.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring (KP125MP2)
The Kasa KP125MP2 suits buyers who want energy tracking alongside Matter support and local control. Its LAN control can keep routines working when the internet is down, a useful distinction from options such as the Govee Smart Plug, whose listing emphasizes app-based monitoring and remote control. It also works across Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings, so it can fit a mixed-device household. The tradeoff is that full smart home integration may require a Matter-compatible hub or controller, adding a setup step. Its 15A/1800W limit covers many everyday appliances but rules out higher-load equipment. I’d choose it for connected homes where offline operation matters more than built-in cost estimates or large-pack coverage.
Pros:- Matter support spans Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings
- Local LAN control can work without an internet connection
- Energy monitoring helps track connected-device use
- Compact design and UL-certified flame-retardant housing
Cons:- Some smart home integrations require a Matter-compatible hub or controller
- 15A/1800W rating excludes higher-power appliances
Best for: Smart home owners who want energy monitoring, Matter compatibility, and local control across several ecosystems
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking built-in electricity bill estimates or a plug for appliances above 1800W
- Model:KP125MP2
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi, Matter
- Maximum current:15A
- Maximum power:1800W
- Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Energy monitoring:Yes
- Safety:UL-certified flame-retardant housing
- Warranty:2-year limited
Our verdict“Choose the KP125MP2 if local control and broad Matter compatibility matter more to you than cost estimates or higher load capacity.”
Tapo P110M Smart Plug (4-Pack), Matter Compatible, Energy Monitoring, 15A
The Tapo P110M four-pack is the pick for buyers who want monitoring to inform decisions, not just show that a device is drawing power. Its usage statistics, visualizations, and bill estimates offer more guidance on consumption than the Govee Smart Plug’s listed power, current, and voltage history. Scheduling can also shift operation to off-peak hours, while user-set cutoffs and overcurrent protection add control over connected loads. This feature depth comes with an app dependency: the full set of tools requires Tapo, and some integrations need a Matter-compatible hub. Compared with the single Kasa KP125MP2 model, the four-pack is better suited to covering several appliances, though buyers who want a simple local-control setup may prefer Kasa’s stated LAN operation.
Pros:- Energy statistics and visualizations include bill estimates
- Schedules support shifting device operation to off-peak hours
- Four plugs cover multiple appliances
- User-set power cutoffs and overcurrent protection add load safeguards
Cons:- Full feature set requires the Tapo app
- Some integrations require a Matter-compatible smart home hub
Best for: Households monitoring several appliances and using consumption estimates and schedules to manage electricity use
Not ideal for: Buyers who want monitoring without relying on the Tapo app or setting up a compatible hub for some integrations
- Model:P110M
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum current:15A
- Connectivity:Matter certified
- Compatible platforms:Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- App:Tapo app
- Energy tools:Statistics, visualizations, bill estimates, and scheduling
- Protection:User-set power cutoffs and overcurrent protection
Our verdict“Pick the Tapo P110M four-pack if you want detailed usage and cost estimates across several devices and are comfortable using the Tapo app.”
TP-Link Tapo Matter Smart Plug Mini, 15A/1800W, 3-Pack
The Tapo P125M three-pack earns a place for compact Matter-based switching across several outlets, but its listing does not specify energy monitoring. That makes it a weaker fit for this roundup’s central need than the Kasa KP125MP2, which explicitly includes usage monitoring, or the Tapo P110M, which adds detailed energy statistics. The P125M instead prioritizes everyday control: schedules, timers, app and voice commands, plus local network control when the internet is offline. Its compact form helps preserve neighboring outlet access, and support for four major platforms suits households with mixed ecosystems. I’d pick it when small size and Matter control are the priorities, but skip it if you need consumption data to compare appliances or understand electricity use.
Pros:- Three plugs support Matter across major smart home platforms
- Compact design helps keep adjacent outlets accessible
- Local network control can work when internet is offline
- App, voice, scheduling, and timer controls
Cons:- Product description does not specify energy monitoring
- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network
Best for: Buyers who need compact Matter plugs for schedules and voice control across multiple outlets
Not ideal for: Energy-conscious buyers who need confirmed power-use readings, consumption history, or bill estimates
- Model:Tapo P125M
- Pack size:3 plugs
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Protocol:Matter
- Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Controls:Tapo app, voice commands, scheduling, and timers
- Safety:UL-certified, flame-retardant design
- Warranty:2-year limited
Our verdict“Choose the P125M for compact Matter switching, but select the Kasa KP125MP2 or Tapo P110M if energy readings are essential.”
Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4-Pack
The Govee four-pack stands out for the length and detail of its energy records: the app tracks power, current, and voltage, with history available for up to one year. That gives it a clearer monitoring role than the Tapo P110M’s listing, which emphasizes statistics and bill estimates but does not specify a history period. Govee also offers remote and voice control, schedules, and group control for Alexa and Google Assistant. Its tradeoff is ecosystem reach: unlike the Matter-compatible Kasa KP125MP2, it does not list Apple Home or SmartThings support. The 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi requirement also rules out 5 GHz-only networks. I’d choose Govee to review device trends over time, provided its assistant support and app-based setup match your home.
Pros:- Tracks power, current, and voltage
- Stores historical monitoring data for up to one year
- Four plugs include scheduling and group control
- ETL and FCC certified, with fire-resistant materials
Cons:- Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- Voice assistant support is listed for Alexa and Google Assistant, not Apple Home or SmartThings
Best for: Alexa or Google Assistant households that want to track power, current, and voltage over an extended period
Not ideal for: Apple Home or SmartThings users who want Matter support, or households using only 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Wi-Fi compatibility:2.4 GHz; 5 GHz not supported
- Monitored measurements:Power, current, and voltage
- Data history:Up to 1 year
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Certifications:ETL and FCC
Our verdict“Choose Govee if long-term electrical readings are your priority and Alexa or Google Assistant covers your smart home needs.”
AiSeek Pro Energy Monitoring Smart Plug Outlet, 15A 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4-Pack
The AiSeek Pro four-pack gives buyers a direct route to monitoring several appliances without adding a hub. Through the Tuya or Smart Life app, it reports real-time power, voltage, current, and total kWh, making its measurements more explicit than those listed for the Govee Smart Plug, whose data history extends up to a year. AiSeek also supports Alexa and Google Assistant, timers, and scheduling, with a 15A/1800W rating and overload protection. The tradeoff is a narrower connection requirement: it needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and full functionality depends on the Tuya or Smart Life app. Compared with the Matter-compatible Tapo P110M, this is the simpler hub-free option, but it offers less stated detail about bill estimates and cross-platform integration.
Pros:- Reports real-time power, voltage, current, and total kWh
- Four plugs and no hub requirement
- Supports Alexa, Google Assistant, app, button, and voice control
- 15A/1800W rating with overload protection and ETL/FCC certification
Cons:- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and does not support 5 GHz
- Full functionality requires the Tuya or Smart Life app
Best for: Buyers who want real-time electrical readings across several devices without a smart home hub
Not ideal for: People seeking Matter or Apple Home support, or those who do not want to use Tuya or Smart Life
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Operating voltage:120 volts
- Maximum current:15A
- Maximum power:1800W
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Compatible apps:Tuya Smart, Smart Life
- Voice assistants:Alexa, Google Assistant
- Certifications:ETL Listed, FCC Certified
Our verdict“Choose AiSeek Pro for hub-free, real-time energy readings across multiple appliances if its app and 2.4 GHz requirement suit your setup.”
Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plug (4 Pack)
Emporia’s 4-pack stands out for its obsessive focus on energy data. While the Kasa KP125MP4 treats monitoring as one feature among many, Emporia builds the whole app experience around consumption — you see real-time wattage and cost breakdowns per plug, which makes hunting down standby power waste genuinely practical rather than a gimmick. Compared with the Govee 4-pack, the scheduling and app layout feel more oriented toward reducing your electricity bill than just toggling devices. The tradeoff is capacity: at 10A / 1200W continuous, this is the weakest plug in the lineup for heavy loads, so space heaters and most kitchen appliances are off the table. Pair that with 2.4GHz-only WiFi and it’s clearly a metering tool first, a smart plug second.
Pros:- Real-time per-plug energy monitoring with cost breakdowns in the Emporia app
- Works with Alexa and Google Home for voice control
- Scheduling to automate appliances and cut standby waste
- Four plugs included for whole-room coverage
- Wide operating temperature range from 14°F to 140°F
Cons:- Limited to 10A / 1200W — unsuitable for high-power appliances
- 2.4GHz WiFi only, with no 5GHz support
Best for: Homeowners who want per-outlet consumption data to find and eliminate phantom loads
Not ideal for: Anyone hoping to monitor high-draw appliances like space heaters, air conditioners, or kettles — the 10A limit rules them out
- Max Load:10A / 1200W
- Operating Voltage:120V
- WiFi:2.4GHz only
- Compatible Assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Control Methods:App, remote, touch, voice
- Operating Temperature:14°F – 140°F
- Quantity:4 pack
Our verdict“Buy this if your main goal is spotting energy waste across multiple outlets — skip it if you need to control anything power-hungry.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring (KP125MP4)
The KP125MP4 is the most future-proof plug in this entire roundup. Matter certification means it works natively with Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings — no other plug here, including the popular Tapo P115, spans all four platforms without workarounds. What sets it apart from the cheaper KP115 and the Emporia 4-pack is local LAN control: your schedules and voice commands keep functioning during internet outages, which matters more than most buyers realize until it happens. At 15A it also handles loads the Emporia can’t. The catch is setup friction — full Matter functionality requires a Matter-compatible hub or controller, and buyers deep in a single-ecosystem home may find a simpler Wi-Fi plug does the same job for less effort.
Pros:- Matter support across Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings
- Local LAN control keeps automation working without internet
- Full 15A / 1800W rating handles demanding appliances
- Compact design doesn’t block adjacent outlets; UL-certified flame-retardant build
Cons:- Requires a Matter-compatible hub or controller for full functionality
- Higher cost per plug than basic Wi-Fi alternatives
Best for: Multi-platform smart home households, especially Apple Home users who also use Alexa or Google devices
Not ideal for: Buyers with no Matter controller or hub who just want a plug-and-play Wi-Fi outlet
- Model:KP125MP4
- Max Load:15A / 1800W
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi, Matter
- Compatible Platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Energy Monitoring:Yes
- Certification:UL certified flame retardant
- Warranty:2-year limited
Our verdict“The pick for buyers building a cross-platform smart home who want reliability and energy data for years to come.”
THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3, 4-Pack
THIRDREALITY’s Gen3 plugs are the only Zigbee option in this lineup, and that changes the math entirely. Unlike the Wi-Fi-based Kasa KP125MP4 or Emporia plugs, these run on a mesh network — each plug also acts as a Zigbee repeater, strengthening coverage for every other Zigbee device in your home, which is a real bonus for Hubitat and Home Assistant users with sensors scattered around. The stated ±1% power-monitoring accuracy beats what most Wi-Fi plugs claim, appealing to buyers who want trustworthy numbers rather than rough estimates. The tradeoffs are structural: a Zigbee hub is required, and the 110V on-off design is basic — no scheduling tricks or energy-cost dashboards like Emporia’s app. Power-on state restoration after an outage works only on select platforms.
Pros:- Real-time power monitoring with stated ±1% accuracy
- Doubles as a Zigbee repeater to extend mesh coverage
- Broad hub compatibility including Home Assistant, SmartThings, and Hubitat
- Space-saving design avoids blocking adjacent sockets
Cons:- Requires a compatible Zigbee hub to function at all
- Power-on state restoration supported only on select platforms
Best for: Smart home hobbyists running Home Assistant, Hubitat, or SmartThings who want accurate metering plus mesh reinforcement
Not ideal for: Buyers without a Zigbee hub or anyone wanting a simple app-driven setup like the Kasa or Tapo plugs
- Pack Size:4 plugs
- Connectivity:Zigbee 3.0
- Operating Voltage:110V
- Power Monitoring Accuracy:±1%
- Operation Mode:On-off
- Control Methods:Remote, voice
- Hub Required:Yes
- Mounting Type:Plug-in
Our verdict“A niche but excellent choice for hub-based smart homes that value metering accuracy and mesh strength over standalone simplicity.”

How We Picked
I evaluated each plug against four buyer-relevant criteria. Data quality came first: does the app show real-time wattage, hourly and weekly history, and estimated running cost, or just a vague daily total? Reliability and setup mattered next — how consistently the plug connects, stays connected on 2.4 GHz networks, and responds to voice commands without lag. Ecosystem compatibility separated the modern picks from the dated ones, with Matter support ranking higher than Alexa-and-Google-only designs because it protects your investment if you switch platforms. Finally, I weighed value per outlet, comparing multi-packs on build quality, button feel, and app experience rather than pack size alone.
The ranking reflects a simple logic: plugs that pair accurate, readable energy data with dependable software sit at the top, regardless of brand. Budget multi-packs earned their positions when their apps stayed functional and their readings stayed consistent, but they ranked below brand-name options wherever ads, forced account creation, or flaky connections got in the way of actually using the energy data. Beginner-friendly picks were ordered by how forgiving the setup process is, not by raw feature count.
| smart plugs with energy monitoring | Model |
|---|---|
| TP-Link Tapo P115 Smart Plug | Tapo P115 |
| Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Ener | KP115 |
| GHome Smart Plug | — |
| TP-Link Tapo P115 Smart Plug W | Tapo P115 |
| AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy | — |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | KP125MP2 |
| Tapo P110M Smart Plug | P110M |
| TP-Link Tapo Matter Smart Plug | Tapo P125M |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy M | — |
| AiSeek Pro Energy Monitoring S | — |
| Emporia Energy Monitoring Smar | — |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | KP125MP4 |
| THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3 | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Smart Plugs With Energy Monitoring
Before picking a specific plug, it helps to understand what actually separates a useful energy-monitoring plug from a frustrating one. These are the factors that shaped my rankings — and the mistakes I’d avoid when buying.Energy Data Depth: Not All Monitoring Is Equal
The phrase “energy monitoring” covers a wide range of actual capability. Some plugs report only cumulative daily consumption, which tells you almost nothing about when a device spikes or idles. Better options show real-time wattage, hourly breakdowns, weekly and monthly trends, and estimated cost based on your electricity rate. This distinction matters most for the appliances people actually want to monitor — dehumidifiers, space heaters, aquarium equipment, and always-on electronics — where usage patterns vary wildly by hour. A common mistake is buying a cheap multi-pack, discovering the app only shows a daily kilowatt-hour number, and never learning which device is the real energy hog. Check whether the app lets you set a custom electricity rate, too; without it, you’re doing math by hand and the cost feature is decoration.
Matter vs. Alexa/Google-Only: The Compatibility Question
Most plugs in this category work with Alexa and Google Home, and that’s enough for many households. But Matter-compatible plugs — the Kasa KP125M, Tapo P110M, and Tapo P125M — also work with Apple Home, Samsung SmartThings, and any future Matter platform without replacing hardware. That said, Matter has a catch nobody mentions on the box: energy monitoring data often doesn’t transfer through Matter itself, so you may still need the manufacturer’s app for the actual numbers. My advice: buy Matter if you use Apple Home, run multiple ecosystems, or plan to keep the plugs for years. Skip it if you’re happily settled in Alexa or Google and would rather spend the difference on more outlets. Compatibility lock-in is the single most expensive mistake in this category because plugs live in walls and power strips for a long time.
Network Requirements: The 2.4 GHz Trap
Every plug in this roundup connects over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and that trips up more buyers than any other issue. Modern mesh routers often combine 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz into a single network name, and some plugs fail to complete setup when the phone keeps grabbing the faster band. If a plug refuses to connect, the fix is usually temporarily splitting the bands or moving far enough from the router to force your phone onto 2.4 GHz. Also consider signal strength where the plug will live — a plug behind a metal appliance in a garage or basement may drop offline repeatedly, which creates gaps in your energy history. Bluetooth-assisted setup, like Govee uses, smooths the initial pairing but doesn’t change the ongoing Wi-Fi requirement. Buyers with large homes should plan outlet placement around Wi-Fi coverage, not just convenience.
App Quality: You’ll Use It Every Day
An energy-monitoring plug is only as good as its app, because that’s where all the data lives. The brand-name apps — Tapo, Kasa, Govee, and Emporia — are maintained by teams that also ship hubs, sensors, and other devices, so the plugs benefit from ongoing improvements. Some budget plugs ship with apps that show ads, push notifications, or upsell screens, which gets old fast when you’re checking consumption a few times a week. Setup friction matters too: plugs that force account creation before showing any data add a privacy and patience cost that isn’t obvious at purchase. My rule of thumb is to download the app before buying and skim its recent update history and permissions. A neglected app is the clearest sign a plug will feel abandoned within a year.
Amperage, Size, and Physical Fit
All 13 plugs here handle 15 amps, which covers nearly every household appliance you’d realistically monitor — but the fine print still matters. High-draw devices like space heaters run close to the 1,800-watt limit, so avoid putting a heater on a plug that shares a power strip with other loads. Physical size varies more than you’d expect: mini-format plugs like the Kasa KP115 and Tapo mini models fit two to a standard duplex outlet, while bulkier designs block the second socket entirely. That difference decides whether a 4-pack covers four outlets or forces you to buy power strips. Also check whether the plug has a physical button — it sounds trivial until an outlet is behind furniture and the app won’t load.
Matching Pack Size to Your Actual Goals
Multi-packs dominate this category because energy monitoring works best when you can compare devices against each other. But buying a 4-pack before knowing your usage patterns often leads to monitoring low-value outlets while the real energy hogs go unwatched. The smarter sequence is to start with one or two plugs on your suspected biggest consumers — HVAC accessories, refrigerators, entertainment centers, laundry equipment — then expand once you know where the money is. Buyers who want whole-home insight should look at Emporia’s ecosystem, whose plugs integrate with its panel-level monitor. Otherwise, a 2-pack from a brand-name maker beats a 4-pack from an unknown one whenever the data quality and app are better, because an unread dashboard saves you nothing.
Frequently Asked Questions
How accurate are smart plug energy monitors compared to a utility meter?
Most quality plugs measure within a few percent of what your utility records for that device, which is accurate enough to identify waste and compare appliances against each other. Where they fall short is very low loads: trickle power below roughly one watt, like a phone charger sitting idle, often reads as zero or gets rounded inconsistently between brands. That means they’re excellent for spotting a dehumidifier that runs too often or a TV that never sleeps, but poor for quantifying vampire drain from small chargers. If your goal is precise billing-grade accounting, plug-level monitoring will always leave a gap when you total it against your meter. For decision-making — which device to replace, which schedule to change — the accuracy is more than sufficient.
Do Matter smart plugs still show energy data in the manufacturer’s app?
Yes, and that’s the practical reality of buying Matter plugs in 2026. Matter’s standard handles on/off control and scheduling across platforms, but detailed energy histories and cost estimates usually stay inside the brand’s own app — Tapo for the P110M and P125M, Kasa for the KP125M. So a Matter plug effectively means installing two apps: your smart home platform for automation and voice control, and the manufacturer’s app for the numbers. That’s a minor inconvenience, not a dealbreaker, and it’s still better than being locked out of Apple Home entirely. If the two-app approach annoys you, a plain Alexa/Google plug like the Tapo P115 keeps everything in one place, provided you never plan to switch ecosystems.
Should I buy a 2-pack of a better plug or a 4-pack of a cheaper one?
If energy monitoring is your main reason for buying, the better plug wins almost every time. The data is the product — a 4-pack with a clunky app that shows only daily totals delivers four dashboards you’ll stop opening within a month. Two plugs with hourly history, cost estimates, and reliable connections will actually change how you use your appliances. The 4-pack math works when you already know the app is acceptable, as with Emporia or Govee, or when you’re distributing plugs to family members who just want on/off control with monitoring as a bonus. A hybrid approach also works well: one brand-name plug on your biggest suspect appliance, budget plugs for the low-stakes outlets. Start small, verify the app works for you, then scale the brand you like.
Can these smart plugs turn devices off automatically when usage is too high?
Most of the plugs in this lineup support some form of threshold-based automation, but the implementation varies by brand. TP-Link’s Tapo and Kasa apps let you set schedules and away modes tied to consumption patterns, though true “turn off above X watts” rules are more common through routines built in Alexa or Google Home using the plug as a trigger. This matters for safety-minded use cases like space heaters or irons, where an automatic shutoff adds real peace of mind. Read the app’s automation section before assuming a specific rule type exists, because marketing pages rarely distinguish between energy logging and energy-triggered actions. If automatic shutoff on high draw is a priority, confirm the feature in the manufacturer’s app description rather than relying on the “energy monitoring” label alone.
Will energy monitoring smart plugs work if my internet goes down?
On/off control from the physical button keeps working without internet, and any schedules stored on the plug itself usually continue running — this is where TP-Link and Kasa models perform well, since their schedules live locally on the device. What stops working is everything remote: app control away from home, voice commands, and most importantly the cloud-synced energy history, which can develop gaps during outages. Some plugs resume logging locally and backfill the data once reconnected; others simply lose those hours, which skews your consumption trends. If you’re tracking a device over weeks to make a purchase decision, occasional outages won’t ruin the picture. But if you depend on continuous records — for a rental property, for example — favor brands known for local storage and reliable reconnection.
Conclusion
The right pick here depends less on specs and more on how you plan to use the data. For most buyers, the TP-Link Tapo P115 2-pack is my best overall recommendation — it combines dependable energy tracking with the most polished app in the lineup, and the 4-pack version scales well if you’re covering multiple rooms. If future-proofing is the priority, the Kasa KP125M Matter plug is my best premium-adjacent pick for Apple Home users and multi-ecosystem households, with the Tapo P110M as its closest rival at a similar tier. On value, the Emporia 4-pack delivers the most monitoring outlets per dollar with a genuinely useful app, making it my best value pick for whole-home coverage. Beginners should start with the Kasa KP115 Mini — simple setup, one outlet to learn on, and room to grow within the Kasa ecosystem. For specific needs: the AiSeek Pro suits budget bulk-buying, the Govee 4-pack works well for Bluetooth-assisted setup in tricky Wi-Fi spots, and the compact Tapo Mini 3-pack fits duplex outlets where full-size plugs would collide. Whichever direction you go, buy for the app first and the outlet count second — the dashboard is what you’ll actually live with.
Fall yard work Picks
leaf blowers
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
















